Water tank

in Anything that's not Eriba-related. Sun Jul 14, 2024 10:24 am
by Philvayro44@gmail.com | 45 Posts

Hi I'm new to eriba caravans is it ok to travel with the water tank full from home

Scroll up

RE: Water tank

in Anything that's not Eriba-related. Sun Jul 14, 2024 1:19 pm
by eribaMotters | 5.548 Posts

NO, NO, NEVER. Whilst your payload can take it any sloshing around of 30kg+ is not a good idea. Before we leave home we put about 20L in our tank and prime the system including the electric Truma water heater. I then close the taps and pull the bung out of the bottom of the large tank. When on site it is then really easy to get the system up and running in minutes.

Colin

Forum Moderator. aka Oscar - Audi A3 1.5 petrol - oh dear me, I've gone to the darkish side and bought a Feeling after 4 Tourings
Scroll up

in Anything that's not Eriba-related. Sun Jul 14, 2024 3:46 pm
by SOULBLUESMAN68 | 1.184 Posts

Hi Phil this is one of those that there is some debate around................I'm in the travel empty corner. The only time I travelled with it full was after a service and they left it with the water in the tank which is under the seat on the rear left side in our model.. When I joined the motorway after the service for the first and only time I experienced my Troll starting to swing & sway as we moved from the slip road onto the inside lane.

I slowed right down and fortunately there was a service station just up the road. I checked the tank and immediately emptied it and everything was back to usual stability. I phoned the dealer to complain but the engineer I spoke with said that it was a matter of customer choice and that when he drove vans down to caravan shows he always had water in the tank.

If you watch YouTube videos of Eriba owners you see that some always travel with the tank full................. but that sway was enough to convince me not to. Perhaps I am getting more cautious in my dotage!

MikeT

sparrowhawk likes this post!
Scroll up