Corrosion to front

in Anything Eriba-related Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:20 pm
by Wilson (deleted)

Hi , it appears that possibly due to stone chips there is oxidation under the panel(not corrosion)top coat, was thinking of wrapping lower front, has any body else suffered,regards garry

Scroll up

RE: Corrosion to front

in Anything Eriba-related Wed Oct 19, 2016 9:28 pm
by highmiler | 367 Posts

Hi Wilson,

Just sussed your emblem, Tom Hanks etc/ Castaway?
Not quite sure where you mean but some vans suffer with lacquer cracking on the front fairing, is this what you mean?
The only way top rectify this is to rub down and re lacquer.

Highmiler
Scroll up

in Anything Eriba-related Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:23 pm
by DBVWT (deleted)

If you are referring to the lower silver panels either side of the gas locker then this seems quite a common problem although I'm not sure of the actual cause.
I'm new to Eriba ownership this year (2005 Puck) but when viewing vans at the big Eriba dealer Automotive Leisure, a lot of their second hand vans were suffering this issue.

Scroll up

in Anything Eriba-related Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:55 pm
by Randa france | 13.186 Posts

I think it's caused by a bimetallic reaction between aluminium and steel and it's more prevalent on the front, especially the gas locker, because of exposure to the elements and metal movement.

I'm sure I'll get an argument here for although I've spent many years in the steel and aluminium industries, I'm not a metallurgist.

What I do know is that a lot of Eribas suffer from the same complaint in varying degrees and it is not necessarily age dependent. Our '99 Troll is just showing small signs of it happening on the bottom centre of the gas locker but I know of folk on here who have experienced the problem on much newer vans.

Randa

1999 Eriba Troll 530 pushing a VW Touran 2L TDi Match

Last edited Sun Aug 06, 2017 10:39 am | Scroll up

in Anything Eriba-related Thu Oct 20, 2016 6:50 pm
by Poptop320 | 2.630 Posts