General Notes on Loading my 'van

in Anything Eriba-related Thu May 29, 2014 9:15 am
by SeptimusFry (deleted)

As a complete newbie to caravanning, I have niggles in the back of my head, where my brain used to be, about loading. (I did search to see if I could find anything helpful, but apart from a discussion which was about loading pages over the internet - not vey successful on sites apparently - I didn't find anything terribly useful. Probably a sign that everybody coming here already knows everything. Well, I don't.

Let me get to the point: apart from respecting maximums, which has been well covered elsewhere, I am wondering what is best practice under several headings.

Centralizing. Knowing that the load is best done over the axle. Does this mean avoiding using large spaces such as under the rear fixed bed on our Troll 530? Or do you use off-axle spaces only for low-density items like bedding? There is room under said bed for a couple of small bikes - would people put them there? If not, they will be a headache for me, since the next best is to hang them on the back and that would be as far from the axle as possible.

Securing Let's imagine that I want to do this really properly. So, before leaving, I cluster heavier stuff like suit-cases (actually soft bags) around the centre of the caravan - how do I keep it in place?

Pots and Pans Now, here I have no idea. Plus cutlery and chefs implements. Having had an incident when cruising (boat) and caught in a nasty breeze, we ended up with this lot tumbling around the cabin - I can envisage the same with a caravan.

Gas Bottle(s) & Water Do people leave these in place? Empty tanks? What do you do with these roll-around things which I see advertised and look very manageable - empty them?

I hope you will be stimulated to give your best experiential advice - but please remember I am a newbie, so no scornful remarks if you please.

All posts by me are benign and never require angry replies.
Scroll up